Challenge I is the year they learn to debate! This seems to be one of those strands that students either love or hate. Honestly, I would have been in the hate category at their age… putting a well thought out argument together and then standing up in a room full of people and having to think on my feet to defend my argument… I mean YIKES! What these kids accomplish and overcome by participating in debate is truly remarkable!

Team Policy Debate

The first debate they learn in Challenge I is Team Policy. They have a partner and, together, they write both the Affirmative and Negative sides of the debate. This debate is arguing for a policy change.

Lincoln Douglass Debate

Starting in Challenge II, they learn the Lincoln Douglass Debate. They do not have a partner for these debates but they do still prepare both the Affirmative and Negative sides of the debate. This debate is arguing a moral/value.

Socratic Dialogue (Challenge II)

This simple worksheet puts all the questions the students are to answer into one place. This was added to the Debate section because I did not feel it needed an entire page by itself and the Debate section seemed like a reasonable place to put it.


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started